The You Version Bible App

I downloaded the You Version Bible App (which is free) onto my iPad last year.  It took me months to realize that there were ample translations to download in this App as well as, and I think this is the best part, audio narration of some translations.

I’ve been listening through some of the Old Testament, Joshua and Judges in particular.  It’s been a long time since I’ve spent ample time in the OT.  If you want to make it through a book or two of the OT I highly recommend it.  The narration is very well done and listening to it is an excellent way to get a bird’s eye view of the larger context of the passages.

We often get hung up in our pet verses, or verses that have been removed from the context so often that to hear them in context is rare.  And while I’m a big fan of really getting down to work to figure out what a particular passage is saying, the large ideas of scripture frame the discussion within and keep us from proof-texting.

If you think you might benefit from having an audio resource, I highly recommend the You Version App.

 

Tags: , , , ,

About Keith

Christian, Conservative, Husband, Father, Writer.

Leave a Reply

